Better Inside EP 14

Better Inside Newsletter

Hey Friends!

This week is very special for me as I turned 32 years old and continue to learn and explore different life journeys. When I look at myself, I can see personal growth compared to my previous versions of life. I've read a study that suggests many men feel sadness on their birthdays because they instantly reflect on life and realize unachieved goals. If I look at myself, I've learned numerous lessons in my life. My favorite ones are the ones that bring me satisfaction through a new perspective on life

"You are Important only as Long as you are useful."

"This one phrase changed my perspective on how I see things and the challenges of attachment. Now, I can easily detach myself from whatever you can imagine. But here are my favorite life lessons I wrote this birthday.

  1. One year of dedicated daily effort can transform your entire life. Remember, there are no limits to what you can achieve when you show up consistently.

  2. Not everyone who accompanies you on the journey is a true friend. Real friends stand by you through thick and thin, regardless of what you can give in return.

  3. Whether it's through books, nourishing food, fitness, mental well-being, personal growth, or meaningful experiences, investing in yourself pays dividends that last a lifetime.

  4. Those who belittle your achievements or demean your worth have no place in your journey. Cut ties with such negativity.

  5. Marriage and children aren't prerequisites for happiness. I've found my joy in staying single and childless; follow your heart's desires, Don't rush to finding a life partner.

  6. Choose a partner who chooses you just as much. Mutual respect and love are the foundations of a meaningful relationship.

  7. Even the negative influences have taught me valuable lessons about who I don't want to become.

  8. This life is your responsibility; no one is coming to save you. Seize control and steer your destiny.

  9. Mastering your emotions sets you apart. It's a skill that empowers you to excel in a room full of people.

  10. Be loyal to yourself and others. It's a trait that cultivates trust and authenticity.

My Favorite Life Advice who are turning at 30’s 

Don’t Be a Donkey

TIM: “What advice would you give to your 30-year-old self?”

DEREK: “Don’t be a donkey.”

TIM: “And what does that mean?”

DEREK: “Well, I meet a lot of 30-year-olds who are trying to pursue many different directions at once, but not making progress in any, right? They get frustrated that the world wants them to pick one thing, because they want to do them all: ‘Why do I have to choose? I don’t know what to choose!’ But the problem is, if you’re thinking short-term, then [you act as though] if you don’t do them all this week, they won’t happen. The solution is to think long-term.

“To realize that you can do one of these things for a few years, and then do another one for a few years, and then another.

“You’ve probably heard the fable, I think it’s ‘Buridan’s ass,’ about a donkey who is standing halfway between a pile of hay and a bucket of water. He just keeps looking left to the hay, and right to the water, trying to decide. Hay or water, hay or water? He’s unable to decide, so he eventually falls over and dies of both hunger and thirst. A donkey can’t think of the future. If he did, he’d realize he could clearly go first to drink the water, then go eat the hay.

“So, my advice to my 30-year-old self is, don’t be a donkey. You can do everything you want to do. You just need foresight and patience.”

Favorite Quote:

Never make long-term plans with short-term people

Unknown

 My Reflection this week:

Don't take advices from those who never leave their houses

For example, when someone asks about me or shares relationship issues, I'm fully aware of their situation, but I refrain from offering advice or suggestions. I'm not in the same boat, as they are ahead of me, making it impossible for me to provide better advice. In my circle, when friends share marriage issues, I choose to stay silent. I gained this awareness from observing people seeking advice from those with little experience, leading them to lose valuable relationships.

I'm speaking honestly, and while my words might bring someone down, the reality is that if you're getting married or already married, it's best not to spend too much time with single friends. They can't empathize with your situation, and their energy, vibes, and suggestions might negatively affect your relationship, especially for women. Women often turn to friends for advice, but following that advice can lead to relationship loss.

Even with someone close, like my school friend whom I hang out with daily and is married, I've told him that I can't provide guidance on his marital issues since I'm not married. I can only listen, and the choice is up to him. As men, we tend to seek solutions in conversations, and this awareness has changed our daily discussions significantly. Making this self-aware decision has limited our talks about relationships.

It's important to carefully consider from whom you seek suggestions before making decisions, especially if you're in a relationship. Choose wisely.

P.S.: I'm not against single people, as I'm also single and can relate to how we perceive relationships. Please don't take offense.

My Favorite video:

In this video, you'll discover:

1. The psychology behind procrastination and why we tend to put things off.

2. Insightful, evidence-based strategies to break the cycle of procrastination.

3. Practical tips to enhance your focus, time management, and goal-setting skills

Mind Declutter:

Journal

Did You Know?

An experiment was conducted with 800 smartphone users by Professor Adrian Ward from University of Texas.

People were randomly divided into groups where one group had their phones on their desks, face down. Another group had to keep their phones in their pockets or bags, but out of sight. The third group of people were asked to leave their phones in another room during the tests.

In all three groups, some were asked to turn off their phones.

The participants were then given tasks that needed cognitive effort.

Even though all participants reported giving their full focus and attention to the task at hand, the participants whose phones were in the other room significantly outperformed those whose smartphones were on them.

It didn't even matter if those who had their phones had turned them off. If the phones near or on them, their capacities diminished.

Prof. Ward said "We see a linear trend that suggests that as the smartphone becomes more noticeable, the participants' available cognitive capacity decreases. Your conscious mind isn't thinking about your smartphone, but that process-the process of requiring yourself to not think about something-uses up some of your limited cognitive resources. It's a brain drain.

Get it Done for the coming week (Personal Branding)

  1. Articles on daily basis

  2. Video Post on daily basis

  3. Books Notes Publish

  4. Trainings

  5. First look launch of course

  6. Sales pitch on twitter

    See you in next week 🙂